Public Land in 5B - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By 410-er

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-11-2016, 11:05 AM Thread Starter
New Arrival

Public Land in 5B

Hey guys I'm new to the site, currently hunting in North Carolina as i am a student here will be back for christmas break and this is my last year in college plan on moving back home. Just wondering if anyone has hunted Blue Marsh or French creek for deer, not looking for anyones secret spot just curious about the pressure and the size of the herd in those areas, any input would be awesome, really planning on doing some scouting and hunting there in the late season hopefully with some snow on the ground!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-11-2016, 09:43 PM
Regular Visitor

Heavy pressure at French Creek. I haven't hunted Blue Marsh.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-12-2016, 08:47 AM

Blue Marsh gets heavy pressure from the start of Sm. Game right through(less during deer but not much as it's a before/after work spot for many). There are spots that don't get as much, most of the deer get pushed to private property bordering though. We used to do some drives over there just before and after HR started and we got a few but that crew broke up so haven't done that in awhile. There are No Hunting Zones on some of the ACOE lands get map at office.

French Creek is in 5C not 5B - so you need 5C Doe tags(gone now) if you wanted to take a Doe there. There are also parts of French Creek that are within the SRA area so there are weapons restrictions(the park also has some additional rule both on where and with what you hunt ... check at office for those). I have not been down there much lately(worked in the area a few times late 80's and hit it then) but do not see the deer I used to during my icefishing trips down there that we used to(Of course the weather hasn't co-operated on that the past couple of winters LOL).