New to deer hunting. Any tips? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2016, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

New to deer hunting. Any tips?

I am new to hunting as it is, and last year, my first year, I tried for small game. I had no luck. It turns out bowhunting squirrels is a lot harder than the Youtube videos show.

I live in the city, so I don't have a great space to hunt (just my backyard). My biggest fear for deer hunting (maybe illogical) is after shooting it, God forbid it wanders into someone's yard and drops, if it does even die. I am going to Field and Stream this weekend and Im buying a target, so I practice more.

Another thing is, when is the best time of the year to hunt them. My guess is in September, when Archery season starts, it's still going to be hot.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2016, 09:03 PM

Re: New to deer hunting. Any tips?

There is a Games Land in Allegheny County. More room. I am sure there are some farms around also. Call the Game Commission and get a list of Red Tag Farms in Allegheny County. Start there. Good Luck to you.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2016, 09:12 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

Unfortunately I dot have a car to get to the game lands. I wish I did.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2016, 09:14 PM

try to find and join the local gun club, sportsman club or what ever you have in the area.

i am sure someone there will be willing to take you under their wing and help you out.

if you have not already done so, take a hunter education course. good place to meet experienced people and for you to learn some things.

Good Luck

http://www.thebreastcancersite.com
go here click on the pink square, beat breast cancer
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-27-2016, 11:11 PM
Sage

Quote:
God forbid it wanders into someone's yard and drops, if it does even die.