Air rifle question - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Potter Co. Joe

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-08-2017, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Air rifle question

I now see Air Rifles that come with report supressor, how quiet are they?

Potter County
Gods Country USA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 09:20 PM
Frequent Contributor

The air rifle community refers to them as LDC or shrouds...beside, you spelled suppressor incorrectly.

It's just like everything else, it depends on the caliber you are shooting. If you want back yard quiet, you will be shooting .177, .22 or .25 caliber air rifles. When you go 9mm/.357 air rifles, those things are loud to begin with, so an LCD isn't going to make them back yard quiet.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-13-2017, 10:07 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman

I have been shooting springers for going on 15 years now and I have never heard a SOUND MODERATOR called a LDC or Lead Dust Collector. Further, barrel shrouds do nothing to quiet an air rifle other than to allow a "buffer zone" of air apace between the actual barrel and the outer shroud to catch vibration noise if you will. The major variable is whether the projectile is sexiting the muzzle at super or sub sonic velocities. The faster the pellet the more "report" is heard due tomair resistance.

Big Al's "Take-Em" Style Silhouette Decoys Pro-Staff.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-13-2017, 10:34 AM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Thanks for the info, I'm looking into the 177 cal. and am looking for back yard quiet
due to Squirrel problems.
I'll make sure I use Spell Check in the future, wouldn't want to insult the Air Riffle Community.

Sniff Sniff, smells like a Golf Country Club.
BillHjr and Pahack like this.

Potter County
Gods Country USA
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-14-2017, 10:44 AM