The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

Scope issue

1K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  Slay 
#1 ·
A few days ago around 20 minutes before quitting time I had a doe come out I was going to take. Turned on my illum. reticle and all I had was like someone placed a colored screen over the lens. Regardless what setting that is what I had. The next morning I turned it on with good light it worked fine. I went and replaced it and new scope worked perfect under previous conditions as other ones. Anyone know what happened or had this issue.

#2 ·
I have a rangemaster pro scope on my tenpoint. I can make it illuminate in red or green dots. What I have found is that in low light the lowest setting of brightness using red dots works best. When I tried to use the green dots, it obscured my vision and cast a green hue throughout the lens.

It could be that perhaps not everyone's eyes are equal in light gathering abilities and for those with some degree of color blindness. The only way to find out is to go out at dusk and test the various color and brightness settings and see what occurs.

Personally, I loathe red dot sights and only payed for this one because the scope reticles are always visible without needing to turn on the lighted dots. I once had red dot scope that came with a Parker crossbow i bought. When the battery died, it was useless (no reticles). Besides, sometimes you just don't have time to fiddle with turning that rheostat on when your target suddenly appears at close range.

I sure wish scope makers would place the rheostat knob on the other side for us right handed shooters. It is a pain to have to reach up and over to turn it on when critters are coming in. That movement may cost you dearly.

#3 ·