Absolute co-witness or lower third? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-03-2015, 11:58 PM Thread Starter

Absolute co-witness or lower third?

I picked up a Eotech for my flat top DPMS M4. I think I am going to go with a Yankee Hill Machine Eotech riser. It raises the Eotech .30 inches and places the irons in the lower 1/3 of the sight window. The way I see it, I can flip down the rear sight and all that will be in my sight window is the front post in the lower third. Pop my rear sight back up and my irons can still be shot through the sight window of the Eotech.

Thoughts?

I support all hunters, regardless of weapon or technique!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-04-2015, 12:10 AM Thread Starter

Re: Co Witness or lower third?

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-04-2015, 12:22 AM
Regular Visitor

I have no experience with cowitness on my firearms but from your images, lower 1/3 seems to be the most desireable. I feel like the absolute cowitness would become distracting with your focus fading in and out.

"An unarmed man can only flee from evil, and evil is not overcome by fleeing from it."

-Jeff Cooper
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-04-2015, 03:24 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman

I myself like the absolute cowitness, lining up the sights the same way every time feels more natural.

Molon Labe
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-04-2015, 03:45 AM
Frequent Contributor

Go for the lower 1/3. I hate a complicated sight picture, especially when your shooting multiple targets. As long as you have a flip down rear sight you'll have that.

It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived.
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-04-2015, 04:23 AM

My next AR will not have a fixed front sight...fold down BUIS front and rear...and probably another aimpoint...