20 moa base and ballistic calculator - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-23-2017, 08:16 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

20 moa base and ballistic calculator

Hi guys. This may sound like a very dumb question. How do I take into account my 20 moa scope base when I'm entering data into a ballistics calculator? I'm very new to the long range game. I installed the Bullet Drop app on my phone and was messing around with it a little and was wondering if my scope base was something that needed entering? If so there's not a place for it in this calculator. Granted, this is a free app and I plan on buying a good one in the very near future but I figured I'd get my feet wet with this one first. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-23-2017, 09:07 PM

I don't know what app you're using or what criteria it uses to make calculations. IMO the base shouldn't make a difference, but what's important is your zero.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-23-2017, 09:27 PM
Frequent Contributor

Jaron,

You do no equate your base into your calculator. By installing your base you have angled your optics 20 moa lower or tilted downward in the front, so when you go to make long range shots you have 20 moa of extra elevation adjustment than you would original have by using a 0 moa or level base. So zero your rifle as you normally would. Then you will have all that extra adjustment when you are ready to long range shoot.

So essentially what Marcus99 said
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-24-2017, 04:13 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Thanks a lot for the clarification. It makes sense now.
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-24-2017, 07:33 PM
Frequent Contributor

I'm going to go a different route compared to the other two posters.