Garret ace 250 - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-22-2013, 10:11 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Garret ace 250

I'm new at this and learning quite a bit. What's the best setting to keep it on so I don't keep digging nails or should I just dig everything cause you never know? It seems like some places I go it just goes crazy and I get erratic readings over every inch of ground. Any advice?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-22-2013, 10:52 PM
Regular Visitor

Re: Garret ace 250

Buck,
I do not know much about the controls on the Ace 250. When i go into a new place with my Whites I usually run the discrimination pretty high to accept dimes and above. You can usually get a feel for the place in a little while. If you are noticing a lot of dead air you can back the discrimination down and proceed. Many times I find out the place is pretty clean and I back it down and also dig the broken up sounds around the nickel range. If you don't dig those you will be missing out on rings, Indian head pennies and other various jewelry pieces. As long as you know you can go back to the property you can crank the sensitivity high and discrimination low the next time for deeper and older finds.

Don't get mad and throw a baseball against a concrete wall. It comes back and doesn't feel good.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-23-2013, 08:11 AM

I keep my Sensitivity set at "3" and the "Mode" set on "coin".Here,in Pa.,we have lots of iron in the soil and this has an some to do with the detector picking up targets.
The 250 doesn't have a manual ground balance setter,to balance out the high iron soil?
If you go around old buildings you will have lots of old nails and other iron stuff,if you go to old picnic areas, you find tons of snap tops!
Anyhow,it is great fun,when you do find an old coin or even a newer coin!

WILLY P
Sponsored Links
Advertisement