Recommendations on a new detector - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-2015, 11:17 PM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

Recommendations on a new detector

I have been working with a garret ace 250 for a couple years and have found a lot with it. Old coins, rings, etc. I am mainly after old coins and don't intend on sticking my detector in any oceans. I was looking into either the Garrett AT pro or the minelab xterra something ( whatever the $600 one is). That is about as high as id care to go. Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-03-2015, 02:39 AM

Re: Recommendations on a new detector

$600 is a good range for a great detector. Just stay with a known name brand. Look up reviews once you narrow your choices. Best of luck to you sir.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-03-2015, 09:16 AM

I would suggest going to KellyCo's website and reading the reviews of each machine in your price range. The At Pro is a nice all around machine and because it is waterproof, you wouldn't have to buy a cover or run to the vehicle if it were to start raining while you are out. That's one fallback to my e-trac, when it clouds up, I head for cover.

4C
Patron Life Member NRA
Life Member NAHC
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-03-2015, 03:56 PM
Regular Visitor

I was in the same boat as you about a year ago. I have the Ace 250 and loved it. But my youngest son kind of took it over. I was looking at the Garrett AT or the Whites M6. I went to the Kellyco page read the reviews and purchased the M6 it was 599 on a special. easy to use and it works great.

If you don't have time to do it right. When do you have time to do it again?
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-03-2015, 11:12 PM
Frequent Contributor