so I found a rock... - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-30-2014, 12:42 AM Thread Starter

so I found a rock...

Walking the fields today I came across this rock....

I figured it was worth carrying out to wash off because it is completely out of place...I've looked at a LOT of rocks and there just aren't rocks like that in my fields...

While carrying it it naturally fell into my hand...indentations in it made it sit really naturally and comfortably between my thumb/pointer/middle fingers...

Coincidence it fits the hand so well AND is out of place??

Hard to tell but the "tip" sorta has wear...doesn't look like major use if so...

Pecking stone? Some other artifact? Or just a rock...that somehow ended up in the field where its as out of place as a piece of flint??

I'm still learning the ropes and got a longgggg way to go...but if it looks out of place or looks like it was worked I carry it out to wash it off... Only way to learn I reckon...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-30-2014, 08:31 AM
Administrator

Re: so I found a rock...

At one time the Laurentide glacier covered half of the North American continent. It carried a lot of material to places where such rocks wouldnt normally occur.

MAGA 2020
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-30-2014, 11:40 AM
Part of the Community

^^^ what DIYASUB said, find those "erractics" in fields all the time... what part of PA are you in?

very likely that rock was pushed here by glaciers
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-30-2014, 03:54 PM Thread Starter

Hmmm I never thought of that...

I am in beaver county...

I'm used to "glacial till soil" up north...we don't see it here...clay...lots of shale..sandstone..
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-30-2014, 08:18 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

<please keep your comments family friendly >
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-01-2014, 09:36 AM
Hooked on HuntingPa