Running for old men - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 59 (permalink) Old 02-08-2015, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Banned

Running for old men

Seems to be a few on here that, like me, started running later in life. I have been running off and on for three years now, but have taken it up a notch in the last year and wanted to ask a couple of questions. There is a ton of information on the web but it is hard to separate what would be appropriate for someone my age and running experience. I will be 54 in April.

On your long run, did your pace always get slower as you increased the distance or does it level off after a certain point? Say your current long run is 10 mile. Did you need to slow your pace to get there versus your pace during an 8 mile run?

At what long run distance did you start needing fluid or energy food intake during the run? I realize temperature is a factor, but just wondering if fluid or sugar intake helped you have a more productive long run in general.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 59 (permalink) Old 02-09-2015, 12:12 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Re: Running for old men

Well we are all different in our late age physical capabilities so this is just my experience. I'm 59 and been running off and on my adult life but I am not fast nor competitive in races. In the 70s I was in the Marines running, 80s I did a lot of racing, 90s through early 2000s slacked off completely from the racing but still trained. Recent years been doing a little more and started non-competitively racing again, 6 times last year, 4 cross country. Although I wish I did I don't run from October through March. But I snowshoe when possible. Ran a 5K trail snowshoe race last Feb. On the computer I have complete running records for the last 8 years.