Basement Flooring - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 12:38 AM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Basement Flooring

I'm just getting started on finshing a trophy room in my basement. I'm not sure what I want to use yet for flooring. I would like laminate for ease of cleaning, but afraid of what would happen with any moisture since its in a basement. I've never had any moisture or water problems. What would you guys suggest?

Iím a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work the more I have of it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 12:07 AM
Part of the Community

Re: Basement Flooring

I used moisture film on the concert than the foam had no problem .I do run a dehum. in the summer.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 04:35 AM
TEE

Carpet tiles.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 11:32 AM

I have put several laminate flooring on a concrete slab and had no problems.
I used the Pergo floor and their Simple Solutions SoftSeal Foam. Itís a little more expensive than others that are out there but it worked well for me. It also took that "tick" sound laminate floors sometime have.
I would test the floor first by placing something like a plastic trash bag down for a couple days with some weight on it. If the concrete looks wet or a darker gray then the rest of the floor I would be a little worried but if not you should be gold. I think lam flooring will tolerate around a 10% moisture level anyhow. Where I used it it was also in a laundry room and half bath and there are no issues.
Make sure you let the flooring lay in the area youíre going to install for a couple days just like you would using a hardwood.
The newer lams are much better than when they first came out and are very durable to pets and scratching, but dropping free weights on them will leave dents.

Good Luck
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 08:20 PM