Reloading .270 - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-15-2010, 11:34 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montco, PA
Posts: 252
Back To Top
Reloading .270

If anyone is reloading for .270, could you please shoot me a PM. Thanks!
Findmeinthewoods is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-16-2010, 01:17 AM
Part of the Community
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pa Kiski Twp
Posts: 123
Back To Top
Re: Reloading .270

PM sent
jimmylee is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-27-2010, 11:59 AM
Regular Visitor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 71
Back To Top
Re: Reloading .270

PM sent
220combat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-03-2010, 02:02 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: 15065
Posts: 4,441
Back To Top
Re: Reloading .270

I personally would like to see 270 info.This should not be a secret club.If not I will find out on my own.

Bob Seger,till it shines.
Hiamovi is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 01:17 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Harrisburg Area, PA
Posts: 1,289
Back To Top
Re: Reloading .270

i havne't had any luck reloading for mine. i loaded up 5 sets of 6 rounds of different charges of imr4350. i'm shooting 140 gr hornady sst.

51 - ok group
51.5 - group gets bigger
52 - group gets bigger
52.5 - group gets smaller
53 - similar group to 51...

not sure what to do next. I've done this twice to make sure it wasn't me. same thing happened.

Should i try different charges? maybe 53.5? i did not have any pressure signs.
Zeus50 is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 01:52 PM
Regular Visitor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 71
Back To Top
Re: Reloading .270

Zeus, try AA4350 or IMR 3031, those are the two that I use in the 2 that I use in the 270 mostly. Sometimes, I have toyed with IMR 4831 with decent results.
220combat is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 10:59 PM
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lycoming Co
Posts: 681
Back To Top
Re: Reloading .270

60 grains H4831 130gr. Hornady SST
shuey 270 is online now  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 10:19 AM
The Man
 
hunt/fish365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Turbotville
Posts: 6,212
Back To Top
Re: Reloading .270

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeus50
i havne't had any luck reloading for mine. i loaded up 5 sets of 6 rounds of different charges of imr4350. i'm shooting 140 gr hornady sst.

51 - ok group
51.5 - group gets bigger
52 - group gets bigger
52.5 - group gets smaller
53 - similar group to 51...

not sure what to do next. I've done this twice to make sure it wasn't me. same thing happened.

Should i try different charges? maybe 53.5? i did not have any pressure signs.
I would try a different powder. I had sorta similar results. I did the same as you, but with 3 different kinds of bullets in 2 different weights. I get patterns. Factory loads shoot good. I even loaded to the same overall length. I was using IMR4831 as I had it on hand. Just haven't got around to trying different powders yet.

Venison - The other fast food
hunt/fish365 is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 10:57 AM
Regular Member
 
Andy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: York County
Posts: 2,436
Back To Top
Re: Reloading .270

I use IMR 4350 and the closer I get to the max listed load with this powder, the better the rifle shoots. Happened with a Remington 7600 and a Winchester 70
Andy1 is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 12:14 PM
Regular Member
 
b&ghuntre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: bucks co. pa.
Posts: 2,264
Back To Top
Re: Reloading .270

I'm sure you checked gun over every thing tight, i have only loaded 130,150, and 110 gr. bullets and only used H4831,IMR4350,IMR4064. If it were me i'ed take a 130 gr. Bt. and stay with that get it to shoot around 1" group with one of the powder's just switch powder stay with one bullet. You don't want to hear this but my Ruger shoots almost anything i load. I hunt with Rem. Factory Core-Lokt 150 gr.soft point most times. I sight in so i can shoot 130 and 150 with out adjustment, for i use 130 in open fields and am mostly shootin far. If you want or care read some stuff about the 270 by Jack O'Conner and you'll notice the 130 gr. is the bullet for 270's .. Anyone i know with 270's weather Ruger's Rem, Win, Sav., shoot good....later
b&ghuntre is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome