S type bushing FL resizing die question - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Steeltrap

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 10:11 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

S type bushing FL resizing die question

I have been reloading for over 20 years now so the process isn't new to me. However, I'm about to dip my toes into bushing style reloading dies. I just ordered a Redding "S" type FL resizer . I'm also breaking in a barrel on a new rifle and beginning to work up new loads for the rifle. Im at the point where I'm going to figure out seating depth and I'm using the Hornady OAL gauge and Comparator. I want to have the shoulder at the exact distance it's going to sit in the chamber before being fired but I don't want the neck sized at all so that I can easily use the Hornady AOL gauge. Would I be able to run a fired case through the die without a neck bushing or expander to accomplish this or do I have to buy a "body only" die?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-18-2020, 02:27 PM

I have the Redding neck sizing bushing. Without the bushing the case would be inserted into "air".

What I do when I want the case neck to have a tiny amount of hold on the bullet in order to use my Hornady OAL gauge is, I just push the once fired case into the neck die by a tiny bit. This usually puts a crimp just at the top (I'm speaking of a few thousands) which is enough of a crimp to hold the bullet.....yet still let it slide into the case when you chamber it. It's at times a trial and error method.

I hope this helps.
sweg likes this.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 01:21 PM
Frequent Contributor

Quote:
Originally Posted by sweg View Post