Best Starter Kit. - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-23-2011, 07:21 PM Thread Starter

Best Starter Kit.

Im new to reloading... and im lookin for a reloading kit that would have almost everything I need to reload rifle casings. Im not lookin to spend to much money on this, just somthing that would work good and wouldnt burn a hole in my wallet. Any sugestions? I've been looking at a Lee reloaer any good?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-23-2011, 07:32 PM
Sage

Re: Best Starter Kit.

Lee has some servicable presses/kits at a good price and there isn't much "wrong" with them. While I've been loading on an RCBS for many years, some of my accessories are Lee, like their Auto Prime hand-held priming doodads and Lee case trimmers.

The Lee kit will work well, especially for those that may "only" load a few hundred rounds, or less, per year.

Also have a Lee progressive, but I mainly use it for pistol cartridges and 223 loads.

Quit using lube pads years ago and went with One Shot case lube. A good scale is handy for starting load development and checking charges, but for hunting loads I've been using for years, generally just use Lee dippers.

Press; dies; scale; case mouth deburring tool; primer pocket cleaning tool; powder measure; loading block (holds cases) and a set of dial calipers is what I started with years ago. Eventually added something to trim cases and some other stuff, but those are the basics. Most presses come with some sort of case priming system, but I prefer doing that by hand, with the Lee Auto Prime.

Along with a loading manual. Many "kits" come with a manual. Have always tended to use Lyman, Speer and Nosler manuals, for the most part?

A manual is a must for a beginner. Even better if you know someone that's an experienced and concientious loader, for some tutoring?

Some folks' learnin' curves just look like circles...3A Camp/also hunt 4B