Needing some start up guidance - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-16-2018, 09:59 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

Needing some start up guidance

All,
I'm just getting into trying my hand at some pistol reloading. My son bought me a Lee Classic Reloader kit, the simple one that uses hand tools and a mallet, not a press. The kit is for 357 mag as I have a Ruger Blackhawk with a 6" barrel (that is what it lists as, but it is shorter than a true 6").

While at the Hamburg Cabelas looking to get a scale, powder and ball, one of their salesmen helped me. I had the small reloading table that came with the reloading kit. He said that there were lots of other loads in a book he had there, a single caliber load book. He told me I wanted H110 powder, 550 mag pistol primers, and said that Berry's 158 grain target hollow points were good since I was reloading just for plinking.

Once I got home and started to do some research I realized the Berry's rounds only tolerate up to 1250fps but the H110 powder yeilds closer to 1400fps. Also, I've found lots of folks on line who warn about the sensitivity of H110 powder. Lastly, though I told the salesman I was looking for mostly light target loads, the recommended powder he suggested is a serious mag powder.

I plan on going back to see if I can return the powder and ball, neither of which I opened. I'm looking for suggestions for a someone new to this. Obviously, a bit more forgiving powder might be in order and rounds that can handle the velocity of it would also be good.