Transporting test loads to the range - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-28-2017, 04:52 PM Thread Starter

Transporting test loads to the range

How do you contain/separate your test loads to transport to the range? I have been using letter envelopes for many years. One per test load 3-5 rounds. Do they sell like the old pill envelopes or is there a better way. Sometimes it is a few weeks from the reloader to the range.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-28-2017, 04:56 PM

zip lock baggies with little paper labels inside of them with the ammo. I number the labels and then number the targets. At the end the label gets stapled to the corresponding target.

Last edited by Marcus99; 03-28-2017 at 05:13 PM.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-28-2017, 05:04 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

I just use a 20 round box. I usually load test rounds in lots of 4. I place a piece of masking tape on the side of box, and write any pertinent information on tape with a line between different loads.
308 ruger and Asajoe1 like this.

The way that you wander is the way that you choose,
The day that you tarry is the day that you lose.
Sunshine or thunder, a man will always wonder.
Where the fair wind blows.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-28-2017, 06:50 PM
Frequent Contributor

I write on a piece of paper what the powder charges are and I also color the tips with different colors from a magic marker and record the colors, I do this in case I spill the ammo. Also the colors will show on the bullet holes and that will tell which loads are which on the target.
Drags
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-28-2017, 06:58 PM

I use 50 round ammo boxes and put numbers on the primers with a fine point sharpie marker. I put a label inside the lid and list...#1 = , #2= , etc... Some guys will color code primers with different colored markers
jimsdad likes this.