Federal brass loose primer pockets ????? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-18-2016, 07:51 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: North central,Pa.-but not home !
Posts: 1,757
Back To Top
Federal brass loose primer pockets ?????

Is it just me or something i am doing,but,i only get like 2 loads from Federal Brass and then the primers are loose or really easy to put into the brass?
I don't load hot or heavy loads and it still happens!
I have some once fired 30-30 brass that it happened from the factory loading and the brass is not what i would reload and use!
Any fixes for this?

WILLY P
willyp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-18-2016, 10:16 AM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cambria Co.
Posts: 1,844
Back To Top
Re: Federal brass loose primer pockets ?????

It's all part of the lowering of material to raise profit, I've noticed the same thing with their brass, two or three loadings and their done. Only fix it to quit using it, I don't think Nosler, Lapua or Hornady makes 30/30 brass but I could be wrong, I hope they do for you. Trying to find Rem/Win bags of 50 seems impossible these days, just not a lot of choices unless you buy factory shells just to get the brass.

I just looked Hornady is available at Midway USA
6-DASHER is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-18-2016, 10:55 AM
tdd
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Berks County, PA
Posts: 7,266
Back To Top
Re: Federal brass loose primer pockets ?????

I've had similar experiences with Winchester brass, too.

It stinks when it happens, but I guess there's not much we can do about it.

Like 6-DASHER said, you're unlikely to find the higher-end brass companies doing much for the 30-30, and that's <span style="font-style: italic">usually</span> the solution...to go to better quality brass.
tdd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-18-2016, 11:25 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: North central,Pa.-but not home !
Posts: 1,757
Back To Top
Re: Federal brass loose primer pockets ?????

I have an old Savage Model 340-30-30,i was using the brass in. It is my lend to new kids for hunting gun and cast bullet shooter!
My guns amount to a bunch of 30-06s,308s,243s and some varminter guns.
Brass is scarce.

WILLY P
willyp is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-18-2016, 11:31 AM
tdd
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Berks County, PA
Posts: 7,266
Back To Top
Re: Federal brass loose primer pockets ?????

That's the way of things lately.....seems like there's always one component that's hard to get. If it's not primers, it's powder. If it's not powder, it's brass.
tdd is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-18-2016, 12:21 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: North central,Pa.-but not home !
Posts: 1,757
Back To Top
Re: Federal brass loose primer pockets ?????

A fellow on another site told me he Super Glues the loose primers in on Federal brass when they get loose?

WILLY P
willyp is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-18-2016, 01:59 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
WildBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Elizabethtown, Pa, USA
Posts: 3,316
Back To Top
Re: Federal brass loose primer pockets ?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by willyp
A fellow on another site told me he Super Glues the loose primers in on Federal brass when they get loose?
That must have been "Scope Eye"
You can always try a Hart Case Saver I haven't used one but some say its works. Dunno.

Another option if you can find any since they're not being imported any longer are the Russian Wolf/Tula LR primers. Most times you need to beat them in with a hammer but fit slightly oversized pockets nice and tight. If you get down this way for some strange reason I'll give you the 500 or so of whats left in the brick. I don't use'm.

Bill
WildBill is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-18-2016, 02:01 PM
tdd
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Berks County, PA
Posts: 7,266
Back To Top
Re: Federal brass loose primer pockets ?????

Yeah, I'd get a little sketchy about anything with reloading that involves the terms "super glue".....
tdd is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-18-2016, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: North central,Pa.-but not home !
Posts: 1,757
Back To Top
Re: Federal brass loose primer pockets ?????

I can count on Wild Bill to have my answers. He is lucky he lives so far away from me!!!!!!
The Hart Case Saver,price of it is beyond me.
I don't like Super Glue either and the cases,i have piles of RPs and Winchesters to use. The Feds will go into the brass recycle bucket.

WILLY P
willyp is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-18-2016, 04:47 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cambria Co.
Posts: 1,844
Back To Top
Re: Federal brass loose primer pockets ?????

Don't use super glue, it will work but you'll break your recapping pin when you try to resize it, a tinny speck of finger nail polish will work just fine
6-DASHER is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome