Brass Preference? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-16-2016, 01:33 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Brass Preference?

Being a new reloader, I have learned a lot from reading posts here. The bullet debate has been one of the most interesting and informative ones I have read since I started reloading. The next component I need to start stocking up on is brass and I was wondering what brands you guys like or dislike. I am more concerned with the higher quality stuff than the cheap stuff as I've been using my once fired factory brass I saved since I started shooting as a kid. The cartridges I will be shopping for are 22-250, 300wsm, 280, and 7mm-08.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-16-2016, 03:49 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: Brass Preference?

I been using winchester & remington brass for many years without issues. I read some bad reviews on these 2 factory brass cartridges, only thing i can think of there not doing something right?

I will not pay twice as much for higher end brass when i am just fine with the Winchester and Remington brass. I reload 223, 243, 6mm, 284, 308. I don't reload max loads. I stay a grain or 2 below the max.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-16-2016, 03:58 PM
tdd
Super Moderator

I use Nosler when I can get a deal on it.

Otherwise I use Winchester or Hornady.

The biggest difference with the higher cost brass is consistency. By this, I mean the capacity and actual weight of the case are much more consistent.

I've weighed Nosler brass vs Hornady and Winchester and the Nosler is significantly more consistent both in the weight of the empty case and in the water case capacity. Much more consistent.

Winchester is ok. It needs work to be useful. Usually have some really badly dinged cases in a given bag of WW brass, and they all have to be sized and the necks cleaned up. Hornady is similar.