Reloading for the M1A? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2016, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 61
Back To Top
Reloading for the M1A?

I've tried a max 168gr. in front of 41.5gr-42.5gr. of varget. Not as good as I was hoping. Anyone ever have luck with win 748?
Liveoutdoors460 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-17-2016, 02:14 PM
tdd
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Berks County, PA
Posts: 7,266
Back To Top
Re: Reloading for the M1A?

In the same boat with you...just acquired one, and will be handloading for it before too long.

4064 was the powder I'm reading that the USMC rifle team used for the M14 with the 168SMK.

I need to also work up a 165gr Partition load for hunting (not in PA, unfortunately).
tdd is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-17-2016, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 61
Back To Top
Re: Reloading for the M1A?

Let me know how you do. I've been told the M1A is a lil finicky when it comes to reloading. Also I'm switching to some LC brass. Mine stretches the crap out of my hornady cased reloads. I have to trim them every time. I wonder if M1A's are known for it. Anyway, good luck and I hope to hear your results.
Liveoutdoors460 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-18-2016, 11:31 AM
The Man
 
Dogface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sullivan County or SEPA
Posts: 8,713
Back To Top
Re: Reloading for the M1A?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liveoutdoors460
I've tried a max 168gr. in front of 41.5gr-42.5gr. of varget. Not as good as I was hoping. Anyone ever have luck with win 748?
What is "not as good"?

Most guys expect too much from the M1A. I had an M-21 tuned by the Army's small arms section at Frankford Arsenal and even with M-118 Match it was only a 1.25 moa rifle.



Dogface is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-18-2016, 11:34 AM
The Man
 
Dogface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sullivan County or SEPA
Posts: 8,713
Back To Top
Re: Reloading for the M1A?

BTW I'll try to find my old load sheets for the M-21 and M1A and if I do I'll post some of the better loads.
Dogface is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-18-2016, 12:55 PM
The Man
 
Dogface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sullivan County or SEPA
Posts: 8,713
Back To Top
Re: Reloading for the M1A?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdd
4064 was the powder I'm reading that the USMC rifle team used for the M14 with the 168SMK.
Try 43.5 gr of 4064 with a Federal 210M primer. I got this load from a guy who shoots military rifle matches.

Dogface is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-18-2016, 03:10 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
RobOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washington Co. P.A.
Posts: 4,537
Back To Top
Re: Reloading for the M1A?

BLC2 ignited by a CCI #34. I would get some Lapua brass if accuracy is what you seek.

I have shot a hefty amount of LC brass and only use it for plinking. Over the years I have found multiple cases where the flash hole was so off center that a blind man could have seen it.
RobOz is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-18-2016, 08:18 PM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 61
Back To Top
Re: Reloading for the M1A?

Thanks for the info.
Liveoutdoors460 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-19-2016, 04:13 AM
The Man
 
Dogface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sullivan County or SEPA
Posts: 8,713
Back To Top
Re: Reloading for the M1A?

FYI: I just found this.

The current LR match round is MK316 Mod 0 cartridge. It uses a Federal modified case (Drawing number 8347636), Federal match primer, Sierra 175 grain Matchking and 41.75 grains of IMR 4064 powder.
Dogface is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-19-2016, 10:12 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hunker,Pa
Posts: 264
Back To Top
Re: Reloading for the M1A?

You are 100 percent correct. However the Gunsmiths at Quantico knew how to Accurize the rifle. New brass was used for match loads. All loads were spun, ..002 tiir was the match run out limit. More than .002 was used for practice only. As for myself I Seggerate !, Even these days. I spin my loads and mark the high spot on the brass with a majic marker rim to bullet then when chambered mark goes At top (12:00). A national match barrel would last about 5000 rounds. I had a barrel that turned to [censored] at 600 yards but would still hammer at 300. Forget factory loads for they are All crooked. From machine loading as well as the progressive loading presses. Go with the simple single stage. This is the reason bench shooters do not use either !! Ejected brass come out of M1-A's hot as well as Garands then cool and will not go back into the chamber they come from. New brass will stay straight for that is the way they started.

"EXCEED THE STANDARDS YOU SET FOR OTHERS"
airgun101 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome