Case Trimmers - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-19-2016, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Case Trimmers

I am just getting into reloading and have been buying all the tools I need piece by piece. The only essential tool I have not bought yet is a case trimmer. Which ones do you guys use and what are the pros and cons of it? I am just going to be reloading a few hunting rifles. Mainly a 22-250 varmint rifle and a few deer rifles. So far the majority of my gear is RCBS but there is some Hornaday mixed in with it. I almost bought the Hornaday trimmer but decided against it because the box said it required their shell holders.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-19-2016, 12:31 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa

Re: Case Trimmers

I use L E Wilson, have to purchase shell holders, but it is a very good trimmer, and the shell holders covers several cartridges
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-19-2016, 05:12 PM

I have a forester trimmer and it works just fine. it works like a pencil sharpener and you need to buy the pilots for the calibers you reload. a set of digital calipers is also needed to get the casing to the right length.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-19-2016, 05:46 PM
The Man

I've used the Wilson for many years. The cheap Lee works, too, and does not require setting up the trimmer for different cartridge lengths each time. It's slower than the Wilson but foolproof...
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-19-2016, 06:54 PM
Frequent Contributor

If you're only going to be loading for hunting and a little target work, just get a trimmer and a chamfer tool. You'll need some method to measure case length as well.