Bullet Puller Advice - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-03-2016, 01:32 PM Thread Starter
The Man

Bullet Puller Advice

I have been reloading for 30+ years.Never had a bullet puller.Is there one out there that will pull and the tips can be reused?

The answers to all of life's questions are found in the Bible!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-03-2016, 02:55 PM

Re: Bullet Puller Advice

Inertia hammer type.

Bob Seger,till it shines.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-03-2016, 07:27 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

I have/use a RCBS collet puller but if I were to buy one today I might be talked into the Hornady Cam Lock. With either one and a routine you can insert the round in the press, pull the bullet, dump the powder and put the bullet in it's box then repeat the process in 15 seconds or less per round. No need to beat or separate powder-bullets as with the hammer type. Caliber specific collets for either one will set you back about $10-$12 each.

In a pinch the bar clamp for a flaring tool works with no or little damage to the bullet(s). It will aslo make short work of crimped or welded bullets but they will be or may be less than perfect afterward.

Bill
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-03-2016, 08:20 PM

I own the RCBS collet bullet puller. Works really well and the pulled bullets can easily be reloaded as their is no marring at least in my experience. It's much faster and alot less effort than the hammer type. I have used both. You must buy collets for each caliber but well worth it. IMO the hammer inertia pullers are way more trouble than they are worth.

U.S. Army Infantryman(11B20-Sgt.) 1978-82
172nd Arctic Light Inf. Brigade (Alaska)
9th Inf. Division
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-03-2016, 08:27 PM
Sage

I use a Frankford Arsenal hammer type, but use shell holders from my dies rather than the holders that come with the unit... MUCH EASIER!!