CARTRIDGE MAX LENGTH AND CRIMP QUESTIONS - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-02-2010, 01:21 AM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor

CARTRIDGE MAX LENGTH AND CRIMP QUESTIONS

I am new to reloading and just threw my first rounds of .300 WSM tonight. The max cartridge length is 2.860" as listed in my manuals. I seated the heads to that depth and when I compared it to the factory rounds I have I noticed that the factory loads are much shorter. If I remember correctly they ranged from 2.722" to 2.725". Why is this when the manual is telling me a length that is so much different?

Also, I did not know if I need to apply a crimp to these cases. I wasn't sure since my nosler heads do not have a cannelure.

.300WSM
Winchester WLRM Primers
Hodgdon H380 (60, 62, 64 grains)
165 grain Nosler Ballistic Tip

THANKS

WOOD - a renewable resource
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-02-2010, 02:30 AM
Hooked on HuntingPa

Re: CARTRIDGE MAX LENGTH AND CRIMP QUESTIONS

no crimp needed.

as for the overall length.... it will vary by bullet weight, shape, brand, length etc. start with the book recommended length for your particular bullet. (sierra lists 2.800" for their 165s and 168s, and hornady lists 2.835" for their 165s and 168s)

as the handloading / accuracy obsession developes you will start loading the rounds custom fit to your chamber size and throat length. (bullet comparators, headspace gauges, oal gauges, micrometers, etc etc)

here is the link for noslers data:
http://www.nosler.com/Reloading-Data...65-Grains.aspx

judging by your powder loads i'd say you've prob seen the nosler data already.

i will say that 2 grain increments are pretty large steps, especially near max. most guys will start 5 to 10% under max and work up in .2 or .3 gr increments. At 2 grains you could easily miss a sweet spot for your rifle. Or run into high pressure without a lot of warning.