The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

May 18, day 19

3K views 20 replies 17 participants last post by  Pigger 
#1 ·
Heading out with my wife to try and help her get her first turkey. Good luck all!

#6 ·
Had to leave at 7am so I'm done for the morning. But... Here's a question for everyone. I'm relatively new to turkey hunting. Years ago I killed a hen in the fall season and a jake in a spring season but I've been out of it for some time. I'm hoping to get my first long beard this year.
Here's my question.... I had two hens come in to my decoys this morning and one was a bearded hen. She was definitely within shooting range, about 18 yards. She was definitely a hen, not a jake, the beard was wispy (not thick) but between 3-4 inches long. And she looked just like the other hen she was with, just no beard on the other hen.

First, I believe this is a legal bird, because the book states "bearded birds" not just males. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Second, should I have shot this unique trophy? How rare is this? I was hoping for a long beard this year but now I'm kicking myself because I probably would have got a full mount of her because of her uniqueness. What do you guys think?
Thanks

#7 ·
Bearded hens are not all that unusual. As you saw, most will have thin beards of modest lengths. She is legal. If you are satisfied with wrapping your tag around her leg, that is all that matters.

#9 ·
Took my boy up to the Michaux SF for a morning hunt. Didn't hear a peep. Saw ten trucks parked in our two mile stretch we like to hunt so guessing it has been pounded on the wkd. Saw some fresh sign but i dont have much patience for cold calling over sign. Back to bed for a cpl hours and then the yard awaits.....chores pile up on me quick in turkey season.

#11 ·
Id have shot that bird in a heart beat, its legal and with all the turkeys around now your not going to affect the population.