Beagle pup help! - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-30-2011, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

Beagle pup help!

I have a 14 month old male out of Branko's. I will freely admit I am no expert when it comes to training hounds so that is why I am asking here..

Here is the situation:

I have had a hard time getting rabbits in font of my pup..he has sight chased and hammerd away on 1 Rabbit and has brought one other rabbit around to me in a very short chase, but he really never opend up like I would like him to. He wines and gets real excited, but no real bark. When he is leashed and we see a Rabbit in the yard almost daily he will open up if he sees it run, but only whine when he smells the trail on the ground. Now in the woods he smells rabbits and will only get excited and whine. I think they are mostly cold tracks but hard to say with no snow.

The pup hunts hard and listend to voice and hand commands relly well in the woods. He is a real nice dog and I want it to work out in the worst way.

I have joined Puketos Beagle club, but even at the club I have had a hard time getting Rabbits kicked out to him. I dont have the space for another Beagle and all I want is to be able to hunt Rabbits successfuly w/ this hound.

I have not hunted him with another dog yet as I really want him to run rabbits solo as this is how I will hunt him.

I think the simple answer is to get more Rabbits in front of him, but I've stuggled in doing so and now the puppy pens at the club are closed until June. (he has yet to see a rabbit in the pen)

All suggestions are greatly appreciated, thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-30-2011, 04:08 PM
Banned

Re: Beagle pup help!