Another question about my beagle - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-23-2016, 10:01 AM Thread Starter

Another question about my beagle

Ok, so this one is one that I have no experience with whatsoever. My dad and pap always kept beagles, but none were ever fixed. Well now I have both a male and female and the... ahem... unsavory behavior from the male is starting. I believe she may be coming into her first heat soon (she is six months old) and I don't really want puppies, so I am considering strongly having her spayed.

Two reasons I have against it are: obviously if she turns out to be a great dog (she is from good lines, but unpapered) and I want puppies from her, it'll be too late and I won't get any pups. We are by no means inexperienced in the breeding department, at least my dad isn't, so I would definitely consider breeding if she turned out to be a great dog. The other reason is I'm afraid it will affect her prey drive and make her a less driven hunting dog.

Arguments for: I don't have to worry about unwanted puppies, either from my male or other males who may find her in heat. That would be a great load off my mind. Also, my male will finally leave her alone. Lastly, she is an indoor beagle and we won't have to deal with the gross aspects of having a female in heat.

So, can anyone calm my fears about doing this? How many run fixed beagles, and how are they as far as hunting? My dad has a good female as well, so if I really end up wanting to breed a litter of dogs his dog is from good lines and is an excellent hunter and she can be used to get pups. So, what do I do? Should I make the appointment to get her fixed?