Click here HuntingPA.com
Outdoor Community

Traditional Forum

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#2597624 - Sun Feb 26 2012 12:54 PM smooth bores?
blackpowder Online   content
old hand

Loc: blooming valley pa. in nw pa 1...
ant other die hard smooth bore shooter/hunters on here? i started shooting flintlocks 35 years ago and owned many different rifles. 22 years ago i built my northwest trade gun in 20 gauge/62 cal flintlock. haven't looked back since. i have shot everything in pa with that gun except a bear. best and most dependable gun i have ever owned. just wonder why more folks don't use them.

#2597833 - Sun Feb 26 2012 04:18 PM Re: smooth bores? [Re: blackpowder]
Joe the Logger Offline
Carpal \'Tunnel

Loc: North Eastern,Pa
Most don't because they lack the skills to get within effective range. Smoothies were the norm in our colonial period, rifles were a luxury. One gun to do all you needed was just common sense to a settler without a pot to pee in or a window to chuck it out.

#2597841 - Sun Feb 26 2012 04:22 PM Re: smooth bores? [Re: Joe the Logger]
old hand

i guess my next question would be, is what would everyone consider effective range? i've shot 1 at 120 yards years ago and another at 80 yards, and several 60 yards and closer. i will add, that i did make a very simple rear sight that fastens on by the tang screw. simple but accurate.

Edited by blackpowder (Sun Feb 26 2012 04:31 PM)

#2598009 - Sun Feb 26 2012 06:12 PM Re: smooth bores? [Re: blackpowder]
zimmerstutzen Offline
The man

Loc: lancaster
I use a North Star trade gun with shot for small game. Never became very proficient with a solid ball beyond 50 yds. Might have to try that rear sight thing.

I do have a 50 caliber smooth rifle that is darn accurate at 25 yds.

#2598071 - Sun Feb 26 2012 06:42 PM Re: smooth bores? [Re: blackpowder]
Joe the Logger Offline
Carpal \'Tunnel