Outdoor Community

HuntingPA.com Forums

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2485143 - Sun Dec 11 2011 07:31 PM Recurve questions
buckspa Offline
old hand

Loc: PA
Hello...I am just getting into traditional archery after 20 years of using a compound. Thanks to Richbat, I picked up a recurve and some helpful advice, but I have a few questions.

I was also able to pick up a Bear Grizzly from my dad's basemement, but after many years of standing on its end, it is slightly warped on the one limb. I got it set up today with a new string. The bow is labeled 58 inch, but the 58 inch string was too short, but the 60 is a little too long. Therefore, the brace height on teh Bear is only at 6 inches. That brings me to my questions.

1-Should I shoot the Bear with the slight warp in the limb?
2-Can I pick up 2 inches of brace height on the Bear by twisting the string (Flemish twist), or is it possible to twist them too much?
3-I tried shooting with fingers split around the nock as well as three under-three under seemed to result in better flight. Is this typical?

Thanks for your advice. I'll tell you, I am really excited about getting into traditional archery more. It was so cool to go out and shoot 20 or 30 arrows and still feel like I could have shot more.

Last, if there is anyone around Quakertown who would like to meet and shoot a bit to give me some tips, I would appreciate it.

#2485750 - Mon Dec 12 2011 07:37 AM Re: Recurve questions [Re: buckspa]
HighCountry66 Online   content
Carpal \'Tunnel

Loc: Mount Jackson, PA
1. You should straighten the limb. There is lots of info on tradgang and stickbow on how to do this. Usually you can fix them after running hot tap water and twisting the opposite way to bring it back to center. You may have to repeat. Hold it till it cools. You can shoot it with a very slight twist, as long as the string stays on.