Reloading for Ar .223/5.56 - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor

Reloading for Ar .223/5.56

I have 2 questions for those who may reload for an AR .223/5.56. You can skip the basic reloading thoughts, I have been reloading for over 50 years, lots for big bore competition, but I have never reloaded for a semi auto. Am curious what people on this forum do.
1. sizing die. full length or small base ?
2. crimp or not crimp ?

I am looking at loading speer 70 gr. or barnes 70 gr. for hunting if they don't put a caliber restriction on the semi bill.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 08:48 PM
Frequent Contributor

Go with the Barnes.... I killed pigs dead with it... I use a regular sizing die, you really don't need the small base unless you have competition rifle and that chamber is wicked tight. As for the crimp... I use a light to moderate crimp, just because I always crimp. SOme people don't, like my buddy... but I used my finger to push a bullet or two into the case to show him how easy it is. It can happen on feeding from the aggressive action.
jimsdad likes this.

Treat me good, I treat you better. Treat me bad, I treat you worse.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 08:52 PM
Frequent Contributor

my load is... 24gr CFE223 under a Barnes 70Gr TSX. CCI 400 Primer

Treat me good, I treat you better. Treat me bad, I treat you worse.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-07-2017, 11:27 AM
New Arrival

I shoot 69gr Sierra Match kings, 25 grains Hogdon Varget, CCI #41 MilSpec primers, very light to no crimp.